My Top De-Stressing Activities for Kids

Do you know the feeling when you have been staring a project for too long and all the words stop making sense and you don’t know how you got there? Then you might get up, make yourself a cup of tea or watch your favorite show for 20 minutes. Just like adults need brain breaks, kids need them, too! Here are five of my tried and true de-stressing activities kids love also giving them essential brain breaks throughout the day. I picked these activities because they are quick and have an end to them so you are not stuck doing them for long periods of time.

  1. I-Spy: Great for so many ages! I can even get some middle schoolers to engage in this activity sometimes. For a refresher if it has been a while since you played, you take turns finding something in the room (don’t say it out loud) and say, “I spy something ___ (the color of the object). The other person has to try and guess what it is. If you want to make it higher stakes, you can keep score of whoever can guess it right within two tries. This toy is a classroom favorite for I-Spy!

2. Bop-It: You can buy it here or probably find it at your local Target/Walmart. Some kids just like playing it by themselves with you next to them or there is a multiplayer option where you can pass it. Kids can get pretty into Bop-It so I might put a timer on it so they are aware of how much time is left to play.

3. Mindful Walk: You can read my full post here. One of the quickest ways to get out of a stress funk is to change your environment. If the weather is nice, take a quick stroll with the child and have them name what they see, hear, feel, smell and touch.

4. Color Counting: If the child is particularly dysregulated I like to start with this gentle activity asking them to name everything they see that is red, blue, green, etc. You can notice their demeanor start to shift as you go along which is a good indicator they are gaining back more control of their emotions.

Published by helpfulhealer

Empathic, compassionate, bicultural social worker who believes everyone’s story matters. Hi there, Helpful Healer here! I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker with my PPS specializing in school and community-based mental health services. My passions include hearing individual stories of resilience, advocating for social justice, fostering cultural humility in the workplace and being a safe place for someone who has had a hard day. This blog was inspired from having gathered interventions over the years as a mental health therapist and wanting a place to share with the wonderful mental health community. Here you will find tools that I have been taught by amazing supervisors and colleagues and some others I have put my own creative spin on tailoring to the needs of my clients. Having been in fast-paced work environments for the duration of my social work career, I have always gravitated towards simple, play and art-based interventions that are easy to learn and facilitate. My hope is that my blog helps you feel a bit more confident and inspired to continue the good work you already do! Follow my blog for a walkthrough of helpful interventions along with my TikTok and Instagram for video tutorials on how they can be implemented!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started