Tips for Adjusting to College

Now that I work with an older age demographic, I have been so proud to see some of my teens entering the college phase of their life. For some, nothing can quite prepare them for the transition to college. I have come up with some tips from working with my teens!

  1. Stay 6 weeks without going home. (This is for college students living away from home) My teens always give me the look of “Are you serious?!” when I tell them this one. It may sound harsh and I definitely do not want teens to struggle and feel like they cannot go home if they are having a really terrible time. BUT I do strongly encourage caregivers to urge their teens to stay at their college dorm for as long as they can. The first few weeks are crucial to knowing who your roommates are, clubs/associations you would like to join and figuring out campus culture. I have seen when students come home to early they end up feeling disconnected from the school in later weeks.
  2. Join clubs and associations! I highly encourage this one. Some college campuses are absolutely massive and it will be hard to find community. Joining already premade groups of students with similar interests as you is a perfect way to find your “people” for the next four years. Also they can become great study buddies if you end up taking the same classes!
  3. Remember an adjustment period can be up to 3 months. In the mental health world, an adjustment period for the average person is 3 months. This means for most people it takes all those three months to feel fully comfortable and settled with new changes.
  4. Send care packages. If you have the means to do so, sending a care package to your college student can mean the world. In my experience, I was really missing Taiwanese food when I came down to San Diego for college. My mom immediately sent me a care package with my favorite snacks. Oftentimes, first year college students do not have access to a car so obtaining their home favorite snacks can be difficult.
  5. Talk with your support system. Before you leave for college, identify those people who remind you of home and are always rooting for you. Call them once a week or however much you need them those first few weeks of school. I called my mom once a week for the first quarter of my college experience and oftentimes crying. Without those phone calls I would have had a much harder time adjusting. If your support system is not what you would like it to be and you would like extra support, most colleges now have on-campus counseling that is free or of low cost to students. Go to your student health center to check it out!
  6. Get a good planner. The biggest different between high school and college is the lack of hand holding and guidance high school provided. Assignments are more difficult to keep track of, there are no “portals” to see all your upcoming assignments and exams. I found a planner that included a monthly view along with weekly spreads for me to write down daily tasks to accomplish.

Published by helpfulhealer

Empathic, compassionate, bicultural social worker who believes everyone’s story matters. Hi there, Helpful Healer here! I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker with my PPS specializing in school and community-based mental health services. My passions include hearing individual stories of resilience, advocating for social justice, fostering cultural humility in the workplace and being a safe place for someone who has had a hard day. This blog was inspired from having gathered interventions over the years as a mental health therapist and wanting a place to share with the wonderful mental health community. Here you will find tools that I have been taught by amazing supervisors and colleagues and some others I have put my own creative spin on tailoring to the needs of my clients. Having been in fast-paced work environments for the duration of my social work career, I have always gravitated towards simple, play and art-based interventions that are easy to learn and facilitate. My hope is that my blog helps you feel a bit more confident and inspired to continue the good work you already do! Follow my blog for a walkthrough of helpful interventions along with my TikTok and Instagram for video tutorials on how they can be implemented!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started