What I’ve Learned About Intergenerational Trauma

I have truly enjoyed my work these past few years with Asian American young adults. Through this work I have been witness to countless stories about being American born yet holding the trauma stories of their parents and grandparents immigrating from poverty, war, crime to name a few. I have been fortunate being able to attend specialty workshops and also through my own experience as a first generation born Asian American connect ties to how the experiences of our ancestors explain our present but do not have to dictate our future. Below are a few tidbits of wisdom I would like to share about intergenerational trauma.

1. Trauma can be something that happened or the ABSENCE of something that should have happened. Oftentimes we think of trauma as something done to an individual. However, especially with intergenerational trauma we find the trauma lying in a “lack of” that every child should have access to, such as a safe space to process thoughts and emotions.

2. What happened to your people and continues to happen? When we are looking at trauma through a generational and cultural perspective we no longer can just look at the individual but the context they grew up in. How were their communities and families affected by history and what are the discriminations/barriers they still continue to face?

3. There is a difference between parents who were traumatized vs. parents who are traumatizing. We need to identify whether a child grew up with someone who is impacted by trauma vs. a caregiver who performed actions constituting abuse. Children who grew up with parents who were traumatized experience intergenerational trauma through survivor guilt, vicarious trauma from parent’s storytelling and may have a view of love through associating love as sacrifice vs. attunement.

4. We cannot do trauma work WITHOUT grief work. They go hand in hand. To experience trauma means to experience a “loss of something.” Whether it is the loss of a safe environment, loved ones, the idea of home, community, there is loss tied to trauma experiences.

Published by helpfulhealer

Empathic, compassionate, bicultural social worker who believes everyone’s story matters. Hi there, Helpful Healer here! I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker with my PPS specializing in school and community-based mental health services. My passions include hearing individual stories of resilience, advocating for social justice, fostering cultural humility in the workplace and being a safe place for someone who has had a hard day. This blog was inspired from having gathered interventions over the years as a mental health therapist and wanting a place to share with the wonderful mental health community. Here you will find tools that I have been taught by amazing supervisors and colleagues and some others I have put my own creative spin on tailoring to the needs of my clients. Having been in fast-paced work environments for the duration of my social work career, I have always gravitated towards simple, play and art-based interventions that are easy to learn and facilitate. My hope is that my blog helps you feel a bit more confident and inspired to continue the good work you already do! Follow my blog for a walkthrough of helpful interventions along with my TikTok and Instagram for video tutorials on how they can be implemented!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started