Affirmation Stones

This past year has been overwhelming, stressful, uncertain and daunting for many and especially our little ones. I have been using this intervention personally when I feel I have been at the end of my rope needing a reminder of hope for now and the future.

Literacy Level: 6+

Goal/Objectives: Improve self-esteem, build coping skills, reduce emotional dysregulation

Materials Needed: Clear stones (option from Michael’s), clear glue pen (Michael’s), ballpoint pen (liquid ink pens will be too runny and smear), white paper, circle hole punch (Michael’s)

How To: Explain how when we get big emotions of anger, sadness, worry and stress, we all need to tap into our “inner cheerleader” to help us get through the day. I start by asking the child what is something their parent/guardian/sibling/teacher/other support person often tells them to help them feel better. If they are still feeling stuck, I pull up some examples I have gathered from this list. I will have the child pick 2-3 phrases they would like to use and have them write it down on white circles punched out of the paper. Put a small dot of glue on the written surface and stick the stone on top of the circle. Once it dries I practice with the child how to utilize the affirmation stones by placing it in their hands, squeezing it tight, repeating the phrase three times in their head and taking slow, deep breaths.

Things to Note: Depending on the developmental age of the child, I may write something simpler such as “Breathe” or “You’ve got this.” These stones are very transportable so you can find creative ways for your child to keep this with them; such as jacket pocket, inside their desk at school, under their pillow at night.

Watch this TikTok video for visual step by step instructions!

@helpfulhealer

Create affirmation stones to build positive self-talk and self-esteem. Link in bio for full details! #selfesteem #therapy #copingskills #fyp

♬ When Can I See You Again (From “Wreck It Ralph”) – The London Film Score Orchestra

Published by helpfulhealer

Empathic, compassionate, bicultural social worker who believes everyone’s story matters. Hi there, Helpful Healer here! I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker with my PPS specializing in school and community-based mental health services. My passions include hearing individual stories of resilience, advocating for social justice, fostering cultural humility in the workplace and being a safe place for someone who has had a hard day. This blog was inspired from having gathered interventions over the years as a mental health therapist and wanting a place to share with the wonderful mental health community. Here you will find tools that I have been taught by amazing supervisors and colleagues and some others I have put my own creative spin on tailoring to the needs of my clients. Having been in fast-paced work environments for the duration of my social work career, I have always gravitated towards simple, play and art-based interventions that are easy to learn and facilitate. My hope is that my blog helps you feel a bit more confident and inspired to continue the good work you already do! Follow my blog for a walkthrough of helpful interventions along with my TikTok and Instagram for video tutorials on how they can be implemented!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started